The modern musings and rants of a nobody.

A normal guy’s view.

The king of wishfull thinking

I just watched a program on TV. Some documentary about the curse of Lottery winners. I swear, the wrong people get too much money. I guess you cant blame them though… well acually yes you can. You need to carefully plan out what you would do with the huge amounts of money you just won. You can’t go out and buy a huge ass mansion, 50 cars, and everything you see, its just stupid.

Thinking about it, if i ever won the lottery, I would be smart about it. I would pay off all my bills. I would buy a good size house in a nice neighborhood. I would get only 2 cars, one for me, and one for my wife. So after all that, I probably spent maybe 400-500 thousand, not even a million! So what what do I do with all the other hundreds of millions? Well I would put in in trust funds, savings, pay for college for my son. Then I would just live off the interest.

Then most importantly, I would donate to charity. Not some charity for a third would country, or for some disease(except for breast cancer research).  I want to donate to help families in need, children with no after school programs, music programs, and one dream is, I would like to see day care facilities that parents dont have to worry about. Hire security, more scrutinizing back ground checks, the whole works.

That is another main reason why we chose not to use day care for our son in the first place. Every day you see some report on people harming kids physicaly and emotionaly, also just plain poor child care.

When I say “Not some third world country” I dont mean I hate them, or think we shouldnt help them. I mean I personally feel we should take care of ourselves before we take care of others. Which in turn would put us in a BETTER posistion to help others.

So to acually have a point to this, if i ever got ahold of large sums of money, I would do more good with it, rather than live an extravagant lifestyle. I would though, make it to where my family never has to worry again.

-Justin

January 7, 2008 - Posted by | General

No comments yet.

Leave a comment